Whether it's your first DUI charge or you've dealt with others in the past, it's normal to have questions about the criminal charges you're facing and the consequences you might encounter if you are convicted. Most criminal charges can have a significant impact on your life. By asking questions and getting the right answers, you will know what you could be up against down the road.
Because most people know that their driver's license can be affected by a drunk driving charge, the question we're posing today is one asked by many people throughout our state and it is: how long will I lose my license if I get a DUI in Virginia? In order to answer this question, we first must look at the law as well as the criminal charge you are facing.
In Virginia, a person may be accused of driving under the influence if their blood-alcohol content is .08 or higher, they are under the influence of drugs or if they have an open alcohol container in their vehicle, just to name a few. Once a person has been accused of a DUI, the potential consequences come to light.
In our state, the suspension period for a driver's license depends on what type of offense an individual is charged with:
- First-time offense: seven-day license suspension
- Second offense and/or breath test refusal: 60-day license suspension
- Third offense and/or breath test refusal: license suspended until you go to trial
In addition to a license suspension though, you should know that your license can be revoked if you are convicted of a DUI. The length of time you will be unable to apply for a new license also depends on the offense:
- First offense: revoked for a year
- Second offense: revoked for three years
- Third offense or DWI felony: license revoked indefinitely
- Three DUIs in 10 years: license revoked indefinitely
Whether you're facing your first or your third offense, remember that you have the right to an attorney. With their help, you may be able to fight the charges against you and prevent the loss of your license in some cases.
Source: The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, "Virginia Is Tough on Drunk And Drugged Drivers," Accessed Feb. 16, 2016