Maybe you are driving home from happy hour after work or a party at a friend's house when you see police lights flashing in your rear-view mirror. Before you know it, you are facing drunk driving charges. This can be a stressful time, as not only are you facing the possibility of fines or jail time, but you are also facing the loss of your driver's license. Because these penalties can have such a significant impact on your life, it is important to understand the difference between driver's license suspension and driver's license revocation in Virginia.
Technology in automobiles is developing at a rapid rate. People in Virginia may already own vehicles that have sensors allowing them to see behind them when parking or detecting when they are swerving outside their lane. Now, a new sensor is being developed to combat a serious issue: drunk driving.
Police in Virginia set up checkpoints all over the commonwealth during the recent three-day holiday weekend in hopes of ensnaring drunk drivers. It is possible that motorists who were not even drunk were subjected to a DUI stop at these checkpoints.
Summer is coming to a close in Virginia, and Labor Day is often considered the last hurrah of the season. It is also a popular time to have picnics and parties, often where alcohol is served. Most people in Virginia are responsible drinkers and are aware that drunk driving could lead to undesirable legal consequences. Therefore, they will not become intoxicated over the Labor Day weekend. However, they should still be aware that Virginia police will be increasing the number of DUI checkpoints across the state from now through Labor Day weekend.
If you are convicted in Virginia on charges of driving while intoxicated or maiming of another resulting from driving while intoxicated, under Virginia Code §18.2-270.1, you may have to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. This is in addition to any other penalties associated with the crime you were convicted upon. This can be very detrimental in a number of ways.
Most people in Virginia are aware that if they are pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving, the police may administer a chemical test, such as a breath test, to determine the driver's blood alcohol content. It is well known that if the driver's BAC measures at 0.08 percent or above, the driver can be charged with driving under the influence. However, what many people may not know is that it is possible to be convicted of a drunk driving offense even if one's blood alcohol content is below 0.08 percent.
Whether it is on a lake, a river or the ocean, many people in Virginia will head out on boats this summer. However, when a person is on a speed boat, a pontoon boat or any other type of boat, they should understand that they must take care if they are consuming alcohol at the time. This is because it is possible for a person to face criminal charges for doing so, as one incident at the end of June shows.
Many of us have seen the familiar yellow "baby on board" sign on a motorist's window. When a person in Virginia drives with a minor in their car, they will often take care to drive safely, as they do not want to do anything that might harm the child. However, sometimes a person is accused of driving under the influence with a child in the vehicle. This is a very serious situation.
Memorial Day weekend gives many Virginia residents a much-needed respite from the rat-race of the working world. People go camping, go to parties and cook-outs, go to the beach or simply relax in their own backyards. Memorial Day is also a popular time for people to kick back with a drink or two. While most people in Virginia will handle their alcohol responsibly, that doesn't mean that once they get in their cars that they won't be involved in a car accident.
When a person in Virginia goes to the liquor store to buy alcoholic beverages, they may put these beverages in the passenger area of their car with no intent of consuming them until they get home. Other times, they may have been to a restaurant where they purchased a bottle of wine, but since they didn't finish it, they decided to take it home. Or, perhaps they brought some alcoholic beverages to a party, but had some of the beverages left over when the party ended, so they put the beverages in their vehicle to take home. In all of these cases, a motorist should make sure these beverages are not open or they could, under certain circumstances, be charged with driving under the influence of alcohol.