Sevila, Saunders, Huddleston & White
Call Today For A Consultation | Toll Free: 800-239-4122
Contact Menu

Assertive Advocacy.
Quality Representation.

May 2015 Archives

Can a Virginian get a DUI conviction expunged from their record?

In this day and age, information regarding the law is incredibly abundant and available to anyone who knows how to find it. Unfortunately, sifting through what applies to your situation and what doesn't can be challenging, especially because laws can differ between states.

Who can get an uncontested divorce in Virginia?

Divorce can be a contentious affair, in which the spouses battle in court over their marital property, spousal support, child support, custody and visitation.  However, it does not have to be this way. Many married couples remain on good terms after separating, or at least civil enough to agree on how to resolve their divorce-related decisions.

Learn your options after a DUI arrest in Virginia

All too often, we hear of people just pleading guilty to drunk driving charges. People falsely believe either that they have no other option or that a first time driving under the influence conviction is not a big deal. At Sevila, Saunders, Huddleston & White, we are here to tell you this is simply not true. You do have options and a first time DUI conviction is a big deal.

My license is suspended without an ignition interlock. What's up?

Virginia has some of the toughest drunk driving laws in the nation, and that includes requiring even first-time DUI offenders to install a Breathalyzer-like device in their cars in order to keep driving. As you may know, even a first-time conviction for DUI in Virginia could get your driver's license revoked for up to a year.

Man found to be the father of 1 twin, not the other

Virginia law presumes that the husband of a child’s mother is the child’s legal father. This means that if the mother is currently married or was married up to 10 months prior to the child’s birth, but another man is believed by one party to be the biological father, paternity must be established in court.

2 counts of DUI manslaughter = 24 years. Still '2 drunk 2 care'?

In the Internet Age, few events of any interest go unnoticed, and an unfortunate tweet can make you famous -- or infamous. Such was the case for a young woman who was arrested on suspicion of DUI in the aftermath of a head-on collision that killed two people. Earlier that evening she had tweeted "2 drunk 2 care."

Could a passenger's open container get you charged with DUI?

Yes. Under Virginia law, if a partially-consumed container of alcohol is found in the passenger area of your vehicle and you seem drunk to a cop, the law begins with the assumption that you're intoxicated. This is an aspect of Virginia's "open container" law, § 18.2-323.1.

email us for a response

Learn How We Can Help

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Sevila, Saunders, Huddleston & White
30 North King Street
Leesburg, VA 20176

Toll Free: 800-239-4122
Phone: 703-468-0432
Fax: 703-771-4161
Leesburg Law Office Map

Back to top