While some states in the nation have legalized marijuana manufacturing, sales and usage, Virginia is not one of them. In Virginia it is illegal to manufacture, sell or use marijuana for recreational or even medicinal purposes. Moreover, the manufacturing, sale and usage of marijuana also violates federal law.
There are legal consequences for those who violate Virginia’s marijuana laws. If a person possesses under two ounces of marijuana, he or she could face 30 days in jail and a fine of $500. This is a class one misdemeanor.
The stakes are raised if a person sells a greater amount of marijuana. If a person sells five or more pounds of marijuana, he or she could face between five to 30 years imprisonment. This is a class five felony. Stricter penalties may also be levied if a person sold marijuana near a school or to a person under age 18.
Moreover, possessing marijuana is against federal law as well. If a person possesses marijuana, no matter how much, being convicted for the first time means he or she may face as many as 12 months in jail and a fine of $1,000. If it is a person’s second time being convicted of possessing marijuana, he or she may face between 15 days to two years in prison and a fine of up to $2,500. Finally, if it is a person’s third or subsequent conviction of possessing marijuana, he or she may face 90 days to three years in jail and a fine of $5,000.
As this shows, the laws regarding marijuana possession in Virginia are strict. Therefore, those accused of this or other drug crimes in the commonwealth may want to make sure they understand their legal rights, so they can prepare a sound defense strategy.
Source: FindLaw, “Virginia Marijuana Laws,” Oct. 21, 2017