Exterior of the offices of Sevila Saunders Huddleston & White PC
Professional Service.
Engaged In The Community.

Facing drunk driving charges is a serious situation

Most people who know they’re going to a place where they’ll be drinking alcohol will have some sort of plan for getting home safely. Of course, drinking in moderation, or not at all, and making sure you are sober when it’s time to leave is an option that many people decide is right for them. After all, it is possible to have just one drink with a meal and not become drunk in the slightest. Unfortunately, police in Virginia are always on the lookout for those they think are driving under the influence, and they will not hesitate to pull someone over based on that suspicion.

Being pulled over by the police is an intimidating experience no matter what the circumstances. However, when the police are shining a flashlight at you and asking you to perform a field sobriety test, a person can become incredibly nervous, even if they are not drunk. Some tests, like the one-leg stand or walking toe-to-toe in a straight line, can be difficult even for any person.

Unfortunately, a DUI charge can lead to some pretty serious consequences. Even a first-time DUI charge could lead to significant fines, the loss of a driver’s license for 12 months, attendance at mandatory alcohol education programs or even incarceration. And, a second offense can sometimes be considered a felony, with even more significant penalties.

However, a person accused of drunk driving has options. It is not necessary to automatically enter a guilty plea. Sometimes the facts of the case will prove that you were sober at the time and sometimes it can be shown that the DUI stop or arrest violated your rights. Formulating a defense strategy is an important part of any drunk driving case. The following overview of drunk driving charges in Virginia may help people learn more about this subject matter.

A full-service firm dedicated to helping the community for more than
40 years